2 de setembro de 2009

Monsta Island Czars - Escape From Monsta Island!

Straight out of B grade movies and into a A grade album, the Monsta Island Czars mix Kaiju movies with indie hiphop. The super group consists of Gigan, Jet Jaguar (MF Grimm), Kamackeris, King Cesar (X-Ray), King Ghidra (MF Doom), Kong, Spiega, Megalon and Rodan. You could best think of them as Wu-Tang but using monster flicks instead of Kung Fu.

I would imagine that most people would pick up the album just for the MF Doom or Grimm content, but Grimm isn't on the album at all (incarcerated at the time, but came up with the album idea) and Doom only raps on one track (MIC Line). Even without the two MF's, the others Czars on the mic and X-Ray on the beats are more than capable and have their own distinctive sound.

X-Ray produces the bulk of the tracks (Doom does a few), his production is raw, minimalistic and almost cinematic at times. He frequently mixes piano with drum loops, not dissimilar to some of RZA's work. Skits featuring samples from Kaiju movies are thrown in between tracks which works well. All of the mc's have a raw sound, with Kamackeris' slick rhymes and flow and Rodan's relentless delivery making them the stand out performers.

The first track M.I.N.Y.A is the only track that instantly stands out, X-Ray puts down an incredibly funky beat with Kamackeris opening with one of the albums best verses. The rest of the tracks feature great production and verses, but just don't stand out as much as M.I.N.Y.A. The only weak and out of place track is the Doom produced 'Comin' at You', which has an upbeat synth sound and an almost cheesy female hook.

20 tracks deep, "Escape From Monsta Island!" is an LP that you can listen to over and over again and find something new in it every time. It overflows with beats, lyrics, ideas, and energy. The concept is extremely original and none of the producers or emcees stray away from the project's intention. If you like your hip-hop underground and dirty with hunger and extreme force, this album is for you.

1 What's the Name of This Place?
2 M.I.N.Y.A (Kamackeris, Rodan, Kong, Megalon & X-Ray)
3 F@#K Y'all N!@@#'s (Kamackeris, Megalon & X-Ray)
4 WitchCraft (Rodan, Megalon, Kong, Kamackeris, Spiega, King Caesar & X-Ray)
5 1,2... 1,2 (Kong, Megalon, Rodan & King Geedorah)
6 Scientific Civilization (skit)(King Geedorah)
7 MIC Line (King Geedorah)
8 Poizon Windz (Megalon, Rodan, Gigan & X-Ray)
9 Under Pressure (Spiega, Megalon, Rodan, Kong & X-Ray)
10 Became A Monsta (Spiega & X-Ray)
11 There's A Legend (skit) (X-Ray)
12 Out My Mind (King Caesar, Kamackeris, Megalon & X-Ray)
13 Warning (Kong & X-Ray)
14 Make It Squash (Kong, Megalon, King Caesar, Rodan & King Geedorah)
15 Gunz 'n' Swordz (Gigan, Megalon & X-Ray)
16 Sumthin' to Prove (Rodan & X-Ray)
17 Live Son Of A Bitch (skit) (X-Ray)
18 Comin' at You (Megalon, Rodan, Kamackeris, Kong & King Geedorah)
19 Take Control (Kamackeris & X-Ray)
20 Escape From Monsta Isle (Rodan, Megalon, Kong, Spiega & King Geedorah)

Download Torrent

23 de abril de 2009

Kylesa - Static Tensions

After a long winter, our humble weblog is back with some great news... HEAVY METAL IS NOT DEAD!!!

I've been searching high and low in the music news lately, trying to find some good new underground independent metal bands, and for my pleasant surprise I actually found a couple of bands I actually liked. Kylesa is one of them.

This USA quintet hails from Georgia and delivers a complex, dark and sexy mix of psychedelic metal. The band's sound reminded me, in anti-chronological order, of Desert Sessions, Queens of the Stone Age, Kyuss and Black Sabbath. Great company, might I add.

They have recently released their fourth album, "Static Tensions", a mature and interesting record that will last long in your portable music device.

To reinforce that we are not here to steal anything from anyone, but rather to promote good music and honest bands, here's a few links for your personal amusement:

Kylesa - Official website (I wish they had the lyrics of their songs in there)

Kylesa Merch - On this part of their website you can buy beautiful t-shirts and vinyl pressings of the new album. Sweet!

Kylesa Store - Their visual material is very nice. On this website you can buy some cool t-shirts.

While you wait for your vinyl and your t-shirt to get inside your mailbox, you can listen to this new album here:

Download Torrent

29 de março de 2009

Brazil 1960s Rock

After a long and dark winter, we are finally back with a giant release: a lot of brazilian rock records from the 1960s. There's a lot of different stuff I collected from several different sources:

  1. Avanço 5 - 1969 - Somos Jovens (128 Kbps)
  2. Hair - 1969 - Hair (brazilian version in portuguese) (192 Kbps)
  3. Jorge Ben - 1969 - Jorge Ben (256 Kbps)
  4. Luizinho & seus Dinamites - Choque Que Queima
  5. Márcio Greyck - 1968 - Márcio Greyck (192 Kbps)
  6. O Bando - 1969 - O Bando (160 Kbps)
  7. Os Brasas - 1968 - Os Brasas (160 Kbps)
  8. Os Canibais - 1968 - Os Canibais (160 Kbps)
  9. Os Incríveis - 1965 - Los Increibles (128 Kbps)
  10. Os Megatons - 1964 - Los Increibles (192 Kbps)
  11. Os Mugstones - 1967 - Os Mugstones (192 Kbps)
  12. The Clevers - 1963 - Twist (128 Kbps)
  13. The Jones - 1967 - Music To Watch Girls Dance (192 Kbps)
  14. Tom Zé - 1968 - Tom Zé (192 Kbps)
  15. Vanusa - 1969 - Vanusa (192 Kbps)
  16. Wanderléa - 1967 - Wanderléa (192 Kbps)
Nice soundtrack for a theme party, don't you think?

Enjoy, dance, share and seed...

Download Torrent